Saturday, September 20, 2014

Release me Review

Release Me (Stark Trilogy #1) by J. Kenner


For fans of Fifty Shades of Grey and Bared to You comes an erotic, emotionally charged romance between a powerful man who’s never heard “no” and a fiery woman who says “yes” on her own terms.
He was the one man I couldn’t avoid. And the one man I couldn’t resist.
Damien Stark could have his way with any woman. He was sexy, confident, and commanding: Anything he wanted, he got. And what he wanted was me.

Our attraction was unmistakable, almost beyond control, but as much as I ached to be his, I feared the pressures of his demands. Submitting to Damien meant I had to bare the darkest truth about my past—and risk breaking us apart.

But Damien was haunted, too. And as our passion came to obsess us both, his secrets threatened to destroy him—and us—forever.

Release Me is an erotic romance intended for mature audiences.

                                                                                                                             4.16/5
                                                              (source: Goodreads)     
                                                 Goodreads-badge-add-plus

My review

I have to say that I really liked the beginning of this story, the end of it not so much. Nikki was very interesting and a feisty girl with a dark past and Damien was this mysterious/ex-tennis player/business guy with an also dark past. Interesting characters, but there were several things that I didn't like.

First the story was like a fan-fiction of 50 shades of Grey with less kinky stuff.
Secondly the author doesn't tell us what actually happened with Nikki's sister, why she killed herself, what happened with the painting, was it finished? Did Nikki get her million dollars for it? Did Nikki decide to push her idea about sticky notes on websites forward? What is so dark about Damien's past? What is with Damien's father and of which secret was Carl talking about at the end of the book?

You can't finish the book without actually telling some things that are mentioned in the book several times, but not actually explained. What is with that?

I was at the last 10 pages and everything was falling apart, but magically at the last 10 pages everything came to normal! And when Damien said Nikki that he would do anything that she asks for, she instead of telling him to fuck her she should have asked him to tell her about his past and one god damn mystery would be solved.

(you need to know that when I read this book I didn't know that it was a trilogy) 



No comments:

Post a Comment